Search
big-Kuvara_2022_Logo_Long-with-1800-text-boxwhite.png

Request Your Free Consultation

Motorcycle helmet on the ground and a motorcycle at the back.

Electric scooters and bikes – often just called e-scooters and e-bikes, have changed the way many of us get around. Whether you own your own or pick one up as needed through a sharing platform like Lime or Bird, these vehicles offer an easy, relatively inexpensive, and fun way to get from place to place.

That said, like other modes of transportation, e-scooters and e-bikes expose riders to a serious risk of injury. In addition, riders can also cause accidents themselves. For this reason, California has implemented some rules regarding helmets and insurance to keep riders and others safe.

Helmet Laws for E-Scooters and E-Bikes

For e-scooters, people who are under 18 are required by law to wear a helmet. That said, it is highly advisable for anyone riding an e-scooter to wear a helmet, as accidents can cause extremely serious injuries, including traumatic brain injuries.

E-bike riders are subject to a different set of regulations. Whether a rider has to wear a helmet depends on their age and the type of bike they are riding. California classifies e-bikes into three categories:

  • Class 1: A low speed pedal-assisted electric bicycle equipped with a motor which provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when a speed of 20 mph is reached.
  • Class 2: A low speed throttle-assisted electric bicycle equipped with a motor used exclusively to propel the bicycle and NOT capable of providing assistance when a speed of 20 mph is reached.
  • Class 3: A low speed pedal-assisted electric bicycle equipped with a speedometer, and a motor which provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and ceases to provide assistance when a speed of 28 mph is reached.

Riders who are 17 and under must wear a helmet at all times. For older riders, helmets are only required on Class 3 bikes.

Insurance Requirements for E-Scooters and E-Bikes

At this time, California does not require e-scooter or e-bike riders to carry insurance. As a result, it may be difficult to recover compensation for an accident caused by a rider. The best way to ensure that you get the compensation you deserve is to talk to an experienced personal injury lawyer as soon as you can after an accident.

What Should You do if You are Injured on an E-Scooter or E-Bike?

If you are hurt in an accident while riding an e-scooter or e-bike, there are certain steps you should take to protect your rights. These include the following:

  • Seek medical care
  • Follow your treatment plan
  • Do not accept a settlement offer before talking to a lawyer
  • Contact an attorney as soon as possible

Call Us Today to Speak with a California Personal Injury Lawyer

If you have been injured while riding an electric bike or scooter, it is in your best interest to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible. Kuvara Law Firm has recovered millions of dollars on behalf of injured victims, and our skilled personal injury attorneys know how to get insurance companies to pay up. To schedule a free, no-obligation consultation, call our office today or contact us online

Schedule Your
Free Consultation





    SAN RAFAEL OFFICE